Tomorrow is my birthday.

In lieu of giving me gifts or attention, I’d love it if you would support these awesome things instead:

1. Your favorite public radio/TV station and/or show.

There are plenty out there! Or you can also give to Public Radio Exchange, a public radio content distributor that strives to make public radio even more public.

2. Public Laboratory for Open Technology and Science’s Kickstarter for their Homebrew Oil Testing Kit.

Amazing people doing amazing things with DIY science + advocacy:

3. Brain Pickings

An awesome blog for bibliophiles, science nerds, and curious minds:

4. American Cancer Society

Those of you who know me also know that I’ve lost multiple family members to cancer. Give to support cancer research. It would mean a lot to all involved.

Birthdays have never been a huge deal for me, and I’ve never felt a huge need to celebrate in a big way. To me, it’s a day that I spend reveling in and being extra grateful for the stochastic gift that is life itself. That’s all there is.

And here is a picture of me wearing pink, a rare occasion these days.

188470_521466390071_6350_n

Leave a Reply

