Zee and SD

So I got to meet one of my biggest musical influences in San Diego last weekend. I first met Zee Avi at the Unitarian Church in Philadelphia last year. I was living in Washington, D.C. and made the two-hour commute to see her in Philly. This time, I made yet another two-hour trip to San Diego from Orange County to see her perform live again. I love her latest album Ghostbird, which you should listen to if you haven’t already. What a talented performer, warm human being, and unique songwriter.

The craziest part was that she recognized me. “Aren’t you Lily?” she said to me as I waited in line among other eager fans. I mumbled a shy “yes” and proceeded to blush. It was the craziest thing. I was also able to spend some time with the members of her band – all of them gracious and wonderful people. I wanted to take a silly picture with her, and this is what happened. I ended up looking like a creeper who photo-bombed this moment, but I assure you that all silliness was intended.

Before the show at UCSD’s The Loft, I did some exploring in Balboa Park. I heard there was an El Greco exhibit at the San Diego Museum of Art. You know me – anything from Spain will get my heart pumping and my feet racing. I wasn’t allowed to take any photos in the gallery (believe me, I tried, and my timing couldn’t have been worse because a museum employee walked in right as I snapped the picture). There were paintings and abstract by El Greco, Dali, and many other Spanish artists.

Yet another artful visit to San Diego. Every time I leave SD, I feel refreshed, and I usually have a smile on my face for most of the drive home – even if it is in the middle of the night.


One thought on “Zee and SD

  1. And you write your thoughts and experiences too? Is there anything else you do that’s awesome? Like maybe magic tricks or a crack sniper or a handstand? I can’t do a handstand. =( Seriously though, mucho cool points to you. 😉

Leave a Reply

