serengeti dreams

I dreamed last night of Africa, which is strange because I’ve never been to Africa. My former roommate was born and raised in Zimbabwe, and another friend of mine lives in South Africa. My visions of the continent are heavily influenced by years in front of the television watching the Discovery Channel, National Geographic, and Animal Planet as well as stories that my friends have told me. Other than that, I have no direct experience with being in any of the African countries.

Strangely enough, I had a very vivid dream about going. In the dream, I woke up to get ready for work and upon entering the garage to get into my car, I discovered that my mom had re-parked it  outside. When I looked inside the window, there were tons of camera batteries in the passenger seat. My mom had also written me a check for some money and left a note saying that she was sending me on vacation to Africa because I’d been working too hard.

In the next part of the dream, I was driving around in a plain full of umbrella trees. I was in my old black Toyota Corolla (which I no longer have). My gas tank was almost empty, and I had no idea how to get around. I stopped the car and got out. Suddenly, my friend Carole (who currently lives in South Africa) came and picked me up. She swerved and accelerated and took me through whirls of turns as I tried in vain to take pictures of the plains from the car. She finally dropped me off where I last left my car, and I thanked her.

The last thing I remember was trying to find a gas station and thinking I’d have to calculate the cost in liters instead of gallons.

When I woke up, it was 7:15am.

Leave a Reply

