Le festin: Life is a feast! Build up an appetite for it!

My latest joie d’vivre is to settle down at the end of a long day with a glass of wine and perhaps some cheese and fruit. I am far from a connosieur of any sort. I know that some wines are red and others are white (some considered pink and some orange), and I do retain some knowledge of how they are made from a trip my family and I took to Napa Valley two summers ago. But my elation stems from picking out the most aesthetically pleasing bottles and labels, to tell you the truth. This pinot grigio is my latest pick.

Because Felipe and I have been sampling wines lately, I’ve begun a collection of corks. If you think about it, bottles of wine call for celebration, revelry, and good tidings. My corks will be dated with a fine-tip sharpie to later on remind me when and why we opened the bottle. Perhaps in the future during a stint of cleaning, I’ll come across the box of corks I’ve collected and recall these good times. At least, that’s the point. I’m a sucker for sentiment. Can’t you tell? Sentimental value is what makes something priceless.

“Les rêves des amoureux sont comme le bon vin
Ils donnent de la joie ou bien du chagrin
Affaibli par la faim je suis malheureux
Volant en chemin tout ce que je peux
Car rien n’est gratuit dans la vie.”

(“Dreams are to lovers as wine is to friends
Carried through lifetimes, (and) spilled now and then
I am driven by hunger, so saddened to be
Thieving in darkness; I know you’re not pleased
But nothing worth eating is free.”)

– Camille

Let this be but an apéritif to build mon appétit for life!

P.S. I studied German for more than two hours today. Making progress with das Perfekt! I still don’t completely understand irregular verbs (Verben stark) and their past participles (Partizipen), but all in due time.

Leave a Reply

